[REVIEW] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Oh, my poor heart.


GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Published June 2nd 2015 by Soho Teen

GOODREADS PAGE


“Time takes care of all that pain so if someone derails you, it’ll be okay eventually.”

RATING: 4 out of

REVIEW:

What drew me to read this book was the Leteo procedure. It reminded me of the Memory Charm—Obliviate—from the Harry Potter series. Well, they were similar in a way, but not totally.

So, the things that happened were unexpected, which I think was the reason why this novel is loved by everyone. I loved the games they played. I want to try them with my friends, if they want to, that is. At first, I was kind of confused with all the many names mentioned. Thankfully, I distinguished them after a short period of time.

I loved Aaron’s voice, it was raw and on point. What I loved the most though, was how this story wrenched my feelings. Like, what the heck, Adam Silvera? Why? I got so frustrated and so angry! I wanted to punch something! All those hardships—I couldn’t imagine myself experiencing them.

I could feel how Aaron was feeling, and it was so not good. I wanted to scream at him that Leteo was bullshit, but at the same time, I couldn’t help but agree to the procedure. I was so torn!

This debut novel is stunning. Very relatable. I want all of you to read it. I want it to tear you apart, too. (Sorry!)


THANK YOU FOR READING MY REVIEW!


signature

2 thoughts on “[REVIEW] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

  1. I have wanted to read this for so long now, but I have banned myself from buying new books because I have, at the moment, 48 unread books in my shelf. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

