[ARC Review] One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

one of us is lying.jpg

I want to thank NetGalley and Delacorte Press for giving me the opportunity to read this wonderful ARC! Thank you so much!


GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Pay close attention and you might solve this.
On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.
Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.
Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.
Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.
Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.
And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

Expected publication: May 30th 2017 by Delacorte Press

GOODREADS PAGE


10.gif

“She’s a princess and you’re a jock,” he says. He thrusts his chin toward Bronwyn, then at Nate. “And you’re a brain. And you’re a criminal. You’re all walking teen-movie stereotypes.”

RATING: 5 out of 5

REVIEW:

I’ve never seen The Breakfast Club and have only seen the first season of Pretty Little Liars, but when it was mentioned that this book is a combination of the two of them, I was up for it.

I was really nervous to read this novel because I was afraid I wouldn’t enjoy it. But, hell no! I was so wrong! I forgot how fun it was to read a mystery novel—the clues, the accusations, the secrets, and so many others!

‘One of Us is Lying’ is a debut novel by Karen M. McManus. I’m pretty sure this book will be an instant bestseller the moment it’s released. Everything about this book is pure fun! I loved how it shook and shocked me. I loved how it made my heart beat so hard, it felt like I was one of them, like I had secrets of my own that I didn’t want to come out. I loved how it confused me, but in a very good way.

This book is told in four point of views. The very first point of view that I was excited to read was that of Addy. And as I progress, all of their perspectives became important to me. I write, and I’m scared to use different point of views in my stories because I’m afraid they cannot be justified. But Karen justified each of these characters and gave them unique voices like it was the easiest thing in the world, it was amazing! Among the characters though, it was Addy that I loved the most. She undergone a very big change and it suited her very well.

The story was fast-paced, which is my cup of tea. The writing style was easy to go through, making things easy to understand. I didn’t have to read the same thing twice because of it.

For a debut novel, this one is wonderful! Now, Karen M. McManus will be one of those authors that I will have to watch out for. I’m hoping for more wonderful things from her in the future.

If you want a heart-pounding, but fun mystery novel, then I suggest you should read this one. Especially if you love cliffhangers that prevents you from taking a break.


THANKS FOR READING MY REVIEW!


signature

6 thoughts on “[ARC Review] One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

  1. Pingback: Avatar: The Last Airbender Book Tag | velleochor

  2. Pingback: April 2017 Wrap Up | velleochor

Leave a Reply

