[REVIEW] If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

if i was your girl

Hello, everyone! I’m glad I could finally read a wonderful book and post a review. I’ve been wanting to read this book since last year and it lived up to my expectations. Well, I had a minor concern, but it’s fine.


GOODREADS SYNOPSIS:

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school in Lambertville, Tennessee. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

And then she meets Grant Everett. Grant is unlike anyone she’s ever met—open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself…including her past. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew.

Published May 3rd 2016 by Flatiron Books


REVIEW:

“You can have anything,” she said, “once you admit you deserve it.”

RATING: 4 out of 5

I found out about this book when I was browsing through YouTube. Luckily, I stumble upon this video about LGBT book recs. I give credits to the owner of that video. I just can’t mention her name because I can’t remember it and I apologize for that. Still, I’m glad I watched because I wouldn’t be doing this review right now if I hadn’t.

So, I was so excited to read this book the first time I laid my eyes on its cover. Yup, the cover was beautiful. And if no one knows yet, the model on the cover is actually transsexual. At least, that’s what I heard. This book was amazing. Transsexual author, transsexual cover, and transsexual protagonist—perfect!

Russo’s writing style was great. I’m going to write a book and I think her writing style might influence me. She did a very wonderful job at letting people feel what would be like being transsexual. Well, some case aren’t the same as Amanda’s, but, I think it is a way to make us aware that it is hard  for them and we people must not make it harder.

I loved how flawed Amanda was. It made her realistic and human. All those bad experiences she had gone through were very relatable. Her voice in this story was powerful. It really spoke to me, opening my eyes and mind more.

About Grant, well, I loved him. I thought he was going to be the mysterious type of guy, but he wasn’t. It was a relief that I didn’t have to be frustrated towards him. I mean, I was already scared about how he would react if he found out the truth about the girl he fell in love with. I really ship him and Amanda so much! If you know their official ship name, please let me know so I can fangirl over it.

Of course, there was another friendship I admired. I loved Layla, Anna, and Chloe. I wish there was more of Layla, though. I mean, there were details about Anna and Chloe that gave me an insight about their lives and the people surrounding them, but Layla, not so much.

Speaking of more, I wish there was more of Tommy, too. I was really curious about him. I would like Grant to talk about him and make Amanda jealous, just to spice things up a little. And I really wanted to confirm if Parker was really a closet case like Bee said.

And Bee, gosh I hate her! Looking at my notes, I liked her once about things she said. I expected to like her more and possibly love her. But, she had just to ruin that. I don’t want to say more because that would spoil you, and I’m trying my best to keep this a spoiler free review.

There was also a Star Wars reference that made me thought of Eleanor & Park. That was just the only similarity they had, though. Unlike E&P, the ending of this didn’t really satisfy me. That was the reason why I gave 4 out of 5. And like I said, I want more.

All in all, this book was incredible. I recommend this to everyone. I gotta warn you, though. There was suicide and rape mentioned in this book. If it will trigger something in you, I suggest you must not read it. Your choice, actually.


THANKS FOR READING! AND REMEMBER, YOU ARE NOT ALONE!

4 thoughts on “[REVIEW] If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Leave a Reply

