[REVIEW] Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

holding up the universe

[WARNING: MIGHT CONTAIN SOME SPOILERS!]

Published October 4, 2016, by Knopf Books for Young Readers

Thanks to my very good friend for lending me this book! I love you so so much!


“We’re all weird and damaged in our own way. You’re not the only one.” 

RATING: 5/5

“The feels, the feels, the feels, the feels…” I kept on chanting after finishing this one hell of a novel. This is the very first book by Jennifer Niven that I’ve ever read and it makes me want to read more of her books in the future.

The novel is about a girl named Libby Strout (who was fat and was bashed because of it) and a boy named Jack Masselin (who was diagnosed by prosopagnosia or face-blindness).

At first, I thought Libby would be one of those depressed characters, an anti-social, an extreme introvert, but no. Hell no! She didn’t let fear get the best of her. She conquered everyone who hated her for no sensible reason. She danced in front of everybody during the Damsels tryout. She wore a purple bikini in front of everybody. She punched boys bigger than her. Very brave and very admirable.

For Jack, well honestly, I didn’t know what to think about him, which was the reason why I’m so desperate to read this novel. I wanted to experience through him what it’s like to not recognise people’s faces, especially family. I wanted to know how he does it. I mean, survive everyday with such burden. And now I know. It was so hard, yet he managed through all of it. There were few errors, here and there, but he still did it. Very admirable too.

Aside from the compelling characters, what got me into this world was the modern atmosphere. When Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Supernatural (never watched the show but knows about it) were mentioned, I was joyous! Come on, who won’t?

Holding Up the Universe is one of those books that will keep you reading until the very end. It will give you happiness, sorrow, and satisfaction. It’ll make your world shift in many ways. I definitely recommend this to all of you.


THANKS FOR READING!

Leave a Reply

